Blog/The 60% Criteria in Fresher Hiring: Which Companies Ask and What to Do

The 60% Criteria in Fresher Hiring: Which Companies Ask and What to Do

Which companies publish a 60% cut-off, how the aggregate is really calculated, and what to do if one of your scores is below 60%.

Last updated: 11 October 2026 · By the Asuraa Team

Quick answer: The 60% criteria is a minimum score, usually 60% or equivalent CGPA in Class 10, Class 12 or diploma, and graduation, used to screen freshers before any test. As of October 2026, TCS's All India NQT page asks for a 60% aggregate with all subjects counted, while an Accenture listing on eLitmus states no percentage. If you are below 60%, target skills-led employers.

Key takeaways

  • TCS's All India NQT page requires a minimum 60% aggregate or equivalent CGPA in Class 10, Class 12, diploma, graduation and post-graduation, with all subjects counted.
  • Wipro's Elite NTH 2023 listing required 60% in Class 10 and Class 12 and 60% or 6.0 CGPA in graduation.
  • An Infosys drive notice says percentages are a simple average of all subjects, including languages, electives and practicals.
  • An Accenture Associate Software Engineer listing on eLitmus does not state any percentage requirement.
  • Asuraa's October 2026 job market report found communication, Python and SQL named in 36.0%, 35.3% and 20.1% of open listings respectively.

The "60% throughout" rule is one of the most common filters in Indian fresher hiring, especially at large IT services companies running mass drives. It decides who even gets to sit the aptitude test. This guide shows which companies publish a 60% rule, how the percentage is actually calculated, and what to do if one of your scores falls short.

What is the 60% criteria in fresher hiring?

The 60% criteria is a minimum academic score, usually 60% or an equivalent CGPA, that a candidate must meet in Class 10, Class 12 (or diploma) and graduation to be eligible for a company's fresher drive. It is a screening filter, applied before any test or interview, and it is checked again when you submit documents.

The rule is usually written as an aggregate across all subjects, not just your best ones. That detail changes the result for many students, and it is covered in detail below.

Which companies ask for 60% in 10th, 12th and graduation?

Several large IT employers publish a 60% rule, but the exact wording differs, and some recent listings do not mention a percentage at all. Here is what official pages and official-partner listings say.

Company and programmePercentage rule as publishedHow it is counted
TCS All India NQT (2024, 2025, 2026 batches)Minimum 60% aggregate or equivalent CGPA for Class 10, Class 12, diploma (if any), graduation and post-graduation (if any)All subjects included in the calculation
TCS Atlas Hiring 2026Minimum 60% aggregate or equivalent CGPA across the same qualificationsAll subjects in all semesters
Wipro Elite NTH 202360% in Class 10 and Class 12; 60% or 6.0 CGPA in graduationGraduation as per university guidelines
Infosys drive notice (university-hosted, December 2025)Percentage cut-off not stated in the noticeSimple average of all subjects, semesters and years; best of Class 12 or diploma considered
Accenture Associate Software Engineer (eLitmus listing)No percentage requirement mentionedListing focuses on backlogs, education gap and batch

Sources: TCS All India NQT hiring page, TCS Atlas Hiring page, Wipro Elite NTH listing on Superset, Infosys drive notice hosted by IKG Punjab Technical University and Accenture listing on eLitmus.

TCS's NQT page also says an offer is valid only if your degree shows first class completed within the course duration. For more on how each company runs its process, see our company hiring process guides.

Do open school, NIOS or diploma marks count toward the 60% rule?

Yes, they are usually accepted for school-level qualifications, but with conditions on how you completed your degree. TCS's NQT page says candidates who studied through NIOS are eligible as long as their graduation and post-graduation were full-time courses, and it excludes part-time and correspondence degrees. Wipro's 2023 Elite NTH listing similarly allowed open school or distance education only for Class 10 and Class 12, not for the degree.

Diploma holders who joined engineering through lateral entry should check how the notice treats Class 12 versus diploma. The Infosys notice says the better of the two is taken; TCS lists diploma "if applicable" alongside Class 12. When the wording is unclear, ask your placement cell or write to the company's official careers contact before you register, and keep the reply.

How is the 60% aggregate calculated?

It is usually a simple average of every subject that appears on your marksheet, including languages, electives and practicals, not a "best five" score. The Infosys notice spells this out: percentages and CGPA are taken as a simple average of all subjects, semesters and years, with electives, optional and additional subjects, practicals and languages included. TCS's wording, "all subjects to be included", points the same way.

To check yourself:

  1. Collect every marksheet. Class 10, Class 12 or diploma, and all semester marksheets for your degree.
  2. Add total marks obtained across every subject listed, including languages and practicals.
  3. Divide by the total maximum marks and multiply by 100.
  4. For graduation, use your final CGPA and your university's official conversion formula if the company accepts "equivalent CGPA".
  5. Write the result to two decimals and compare it with the cut-off. A score of 59.9% is below 60% unless the notice says rounding is allowed.

If you have both Class 12 and a diploma, the Infosys notice says the better of the two is considered. Other companies may treat this differently, so check each notice.

How do you convert CGPA to percentage for job applications?

Use the conversion formula printed on your university's marksheet or published by your university, not a generic multiplier. TCS asks for 60% "or equivalent CGPA", and Wipro's 2023 listing said graduation marks are taken as per university guidelines. Universities use different formulas, so two students with the same CGPA from different universities can have different percentages.

If your university issues a percentage conversion certificate, keep a copy ready. Recruiters and verification agencies usually accept the university's own figure over any calculation you do yourself.

What can you do if you have less than 60%?

You still have plenty of routes; you just need to aim them differently. A practical plan:

  1. Separate the filter from the job. The 60% rule mostly appears in large campus and mass-hiring drives. Many startups, product companies and mid-sized firms hire on tests, projects and interviews instead.
  2. Look for programmes with no stated cut-off. The Accenture listing above, for example, does not mention a percentage. Read each notice rather than assuming.
  3. Build proof of skill. Asuraa's October 2026 job market report found communication named in 36.0% of open listings, Python in 35.3% and SQL in 20.1%. Projects that show these skills give a recruiter something to judge besides your marks.
  4. Use internships as a bridge. The same report found 19% of open jobs on Asuraa were internships, and internship-to-full-time conversion does not depend on a percentage cut-off.
  5. Apply off-campus and through referrals. Referred candidates still have to meet published eligibility at companies with fixed filters, but at companies without them, a referral gets your work seen.

Our guide on skills versus degree in hiring explains how skills-led employers evaluate candidates, and our portfolio guide shows what to build.

What do most guides on the 60% criteria get wrong?

Most guides say "you need 60% throughout" and treat it as one rule. Three corrections matter.

Postgraduation does not wash out a low score. TCS lists Class 10, Class 12, diploma, graduation and post-graduation together. Doing an MCA or M.Tech adds a qualification to be checked; it does not replace a lower score earlier in your record.

The aggregate includes subjects you might expect to be ignored. Students often calculate using their best subjects or exclude languages. Notices like the Infosys one explicitly include everything.

Not every big company publishes a cut-off. The Accenture listing on eLitmus sets rules for backlogs and education gaps but does not state a percentage. Assuming every large employer applies 60% means you skip applications you were eligible for.

Does the 60% rule also apply to backlogs and education gaps?

No, those are separate rules that sit alongside it. TCS NQT, for example, also bars pending backlogs, rules out extended education and caps the total academic gap at 24 months. You can meet the percentage rule and still fail one of these. Our guide to backlogs and job eligibility covers those clauses company by company.

Hiring criteria change every season. Before you apply, confirm the current rule on the official careers page or the drive notice shared by your placement cell.

Related guides

FAQ

What does 60% throughout mean in job eligibility?

It means you need at least 60% or an equivalent CGPA in each listed qualification, typically Class 10, Class 12 or diploma, and graduation, plus post-graduation if you have one. TCS's All India NQT page lists all of these and says every subject is included in the calculation, so one qualification below 60% can make you ineligible.

Is 59.5% considered 60% for job eligibility?

Not unless the company says it rounds. Most notices state a minimum of 60% and do not mention rounding, so treat 59.5% as below the line. If you are close, check whether your university's official CGPA conversion gives a different figure, and use the percentage on your university-issued documents rather than your own calculation.

Does Accenture require 60% for freshers?

An Accenture Associate Software Engineer listing on eLitmus, covering 2021 to 2024 pass-outs, states rules on active backlogs, a maximum one-year education gap and batch years, but does not mention a percentage requirement. Criteria can change by drive, so confirm on the official notice you are applying to before assuming either way.

Will doing an MCA or M.Tech help if my B.Tech is below 60%?

Usually not for companies with a 60% rule. TCS lists graduation and post-graduation together, so a postgraduate degree adds another qualification to be checked rather than replacing your undergraduate score. A postgraduate degree can still help with skills-led employers, research roles or programmes designed for postgraduates.

How do I calculate my aggregate percentage for job applications?

Add the marks obtained in every subject on your marksheets, including languages, electives and practicals, divide by total maximum marks and multiply by 100. For graduation, use your final CGPA with your university's official conversion formula. An Infosys drive notice describes this simple-average method explicitly, and it is the safest way to check yourself.

Final thoughts

The 60% criteria filters you out of some mass drives, not out of the job market. Check the exact wording for every drive, calculate your aggregate honestly, and put your energy into roles that judge skills, starting with entry-level listings on Asuraa's free job search.

Related articles

Share this article

Continue Reading

Data Science Career Paths

Explore different career trajectories in data science and find your perfect fit.

Read article →

Building Your DS Portfolio

Learn how to create projects that impress hiring managers and showcase your skills.

Read article →

Salary Negotiation Guide

Get the compensation you deserve with our proven negotiation strategies.

Review Your Resume →