Volvo Group Graduate Apprentice Trainee (GAT): Process and Pay
What Volvo Group's Graduate Apprentice Trainee role really is in 2026: a one-year NATS apprenticeship in Bengaluru finance teams, who can apply, the stipend on the posting, and how to apply.
Last updated: 13 October 2026 · By the Asuraa Team
Quick answer: The Volvo Group Graduate Apprentice Trainee (GAT) is a one-year, on-site apprenticeship in Bengaluru under the National Apprenticeship Training Scheme (NATS). As of October 2026, the live GAT postings on Volvo's careers portal were Group Finance roles for BCom, BBA and other commerce graduates, and the BCom/BBA posting (2024 to 2026 pass-outs) lists a stipend of Rs 16,500 per month. Applications go only through Volvo's online portal, and Volvo says it never charges candidates.
Key takeaways
- Volvo Group's Graduate Apprentice Trainee (GAT) role is a one-year, on-site apprenticeship under the National Apprenticeship Training Scheme and the Apprentices Act, 1961, not a permanent job.
- As of 13 October 2026, all live GAT postings on Volvo's careers portal were Group Finance roles in Bengaluru (postal code 562122) for commerce or business graduates.
- The BCom/BBA GAT posting accepts 2024, 2025 and 2026 graduates and lists a stipend of Rs 16,500 per month; the other GAT postings checked did not state a stipend.
- The Board of Apprenticeship Training sets the minimum NATS stipend for graduate apprentices at Rs 9,000 per month, with the government reimbursing 50% of that minimum through DBT.
- Volvo accepts GAT applications only through its online portal, not email, and states that it never asks candidates for payment at any stage.
What is the Volvo Group Graduate Apprentice Trainee (GAT) role?
The Volvo Group Graduate Apprentice Trainee (GAT) role is a one-year, on-the-job apprenticeship for recent graduates, run under India's National Apprenticeship Training Scheme (NATS) and the Apprentices Act, 1961. It is not a permanent job offer: Volvo lists the positions as temporary, student-type roles with hands-on training inside a real team.
As of 13 October 2026, the GAT postings on Volvo Group's job portal were all for Bengaluru (postal code 562122) and all sat in Group Finance. One posting is aimed specifically at BCom and BBA graduates; the others ask for a commerce or business degree. Volvo's own description of Group Finance covers financial planning, accounting, business controlling, mergers and acquisitions, financial reporting and investor relations, so this is a finance-operations apprenticeship rather than an engineering trainee scheme.
Volvo has used the same GAT title for many past openings in the Bengaluru area. An earlier posting, now closed, listed Hosakote as the location. Because each opening is written for a specific team, always read the individual posting rather than assuming every GAT role is identical.
Who is eligible for the Volvo GAT programme?
Commerce and business graduates are eligible for the current openings: the BCom/BBA posting accepts BCom or BBA graduates who passed out in 2024, 2025 or 2026, and asks for all mark sheets plus the provisional degree certificate. That posting does not state a minimum percentage or CGPA, so do not trust third-party pages that quote a cut-off.
A second Group Finance GAT posting describes eligibility more broadly as an undergraduate degree in commerce or business such as BCom or BBA, and lists the skills it wants: working knowledge of MS Office, problem-solving, and clear written and spoken communication. SAP knowledge is listed as preferred, and prior experience with process transitions is described as an added advantage.
There is one more step that comes from the scheme itself: the NATS portal treats candidates as eligible only after they complete e-KYC verification. If you have already worked full-time or done an apprenticeship before, check the NATS rules before you apply, and read our NATS and NAPS apprenticeship guide for how registration works.
| Detail | What the official postings say (October 2026) |
|---|---|
| Location | Bengaluru, Karnataka (562122), on-site |
| Work pattern | On-site, five days a week; no travel |
| Function | Group Finance (Finance job category) |
| Degree | BCom, BBA or other commerce/business degree |
| Batch | 2024, 2025 or 2026 graduates (BCom/BBA posting) |
| Duration | One year |
| Scheme | NATS, under the Apprentices Act, 1961 |
| Stipend | Rs 16,500 per month (BCom/BBA posting only) |
| Minimum marks | Not stated in the postings |
What does a Volvo graduate apprentice trainee actually do?
A Volvo GAT in Group Finance does routine accounting operations work under supervision, and the tasks depend on which team posted the role. The BCom/BBA posting lists preparing and posting general ledger journal entries, supporting GST, TDS and fixed-asset accounting, preparing workings for TDS and GST payments, supplying data for periodic return filings, handling employee expense claims, balance sheet reconciliations, and month-end and year-end close support. It also expects trainees to learn ERP tools such as SAP.
The other Group Finance posting is narrower: preparing, scanning and registering supplier invoices and resolving matching errors. That is classic procure-to-pay work.
Either way, the year gives you practical exposure to the processes that shared-service finance teams run every day. If you are weighing this against other commerce fresher roles, our guide to accounting jobs for freshers in India explains where these skills lead.
How much stipend does a Volvo GAT get?
The current BCom/BBA GAT posting states a stipend of Rs 16,500 per month (Volvo Group), as of October 2026. The two other Group Finance GAT postings checked on the same day did not list a stipend, so do not assume every GAT opening pays the same.
For context, a Board of Apprenticeship Training letter dated 27 August 2024 sets the minimum NATS stipend at Rs 9,000 per month for graduate or degree apprentices and Rs 8,000 for diploma apprentices (Ministry of Education, BOAT). The same document says the Government of India reimburses 50% of the prescribed minimum stipend to the employer through Direct Benefit Transfer. Companies can pay more than the minimum, which is what the Rs 16,500 figure shows.
Treat Rs 16,500 as the stipend for that particular posting, not a promise for future intakes. Salary aggregator figures for "Volvo GAT" mix different years, functions and plants, so if you look them up, remember they are self-reported and may not match the posting you apply to. For how Indian internship and apprenticeship stipends compare more widely, see our internship stipend guide.
How do you apply for the Volvo Group GAT programme?
You apply online through Volvo Group's careers portal; the postings say Volvo does not accept applications by email. Here is the sequence that works:
- Search "Graduate Apprentice Trainee" with location India on jobs.volvogroup.com and open every result, because each one is a separate team with its own duties.
- Check the batch, degree and documents line in the posting. The BCom/BBA role asks for all mark sheets and a provisional degree certificate, so keep scanned copies ready.
- Register on the NATS portal if you have not already, and complete e-KYC, since the scheme requires it before you count as eligible (NATS).
- Tailor your resume to the posting: mention GST, TDS, reconciliations, Excel and any SAP exposure in plain words. Running it through the Asuraa resume reviewer against the job description shows which keywords you are missing.
- Submit through the "Apply now" button and keep the requisition ID (for example, 36074 for the BCom/BBA role) for follow-up.
- Prepare for a conversation on accounting basics, Excel and communication. The postings do not publish a fixed round structure, so be ready for a test or an interview and confirm details with the recruiter.
Volvo states on its posting that it never asks candidates for money at any stage, and that any such request should be treated as a scam. If someone sends you a "GAT offer" with a fee attached, read our checklist on how to check if an offer letter is fake.
What do most guides on the Volvo GAT get wrong?
Most guides describe Volvo GAT as an engineering trainee programme with a guaranteed job at the end, and both points are misleading for the October 2026 openings. Every live GAT posting on the portal that day was a Group Finance role for commerce or business graduates, and the postings describe a temporary, one-year apprenticeship under NATS, not a permanent hire.
A NATS apprenticeship is a training contract under the Apprentices Act, and the Volvo postings make no promise of conversion to a permanent role when it ends. Good performance can still lead to a role, but plan for both outcomes: by month nine, have an updated resume, a list of the processes you handled, and a few applications out. Our guide on the graduate engineer trainee role explains how GET, GAT and management trainee titles differ, which helps when you compare offers.
The second error is quoting one stipend for all GAT roles. Only one of the three current postings listed a figure. The third is copying cut-offs from forum posts; the official postings checked do not state any percentage requirement.
How does the Volvo GAT compare with other fresher options?
The Volvo GAT is a strong first step if you want structured finance-operations experience at a large multinational, but it pays a stipend rather than a salary and has a fixed end date. Here is how it stacks up against two common alternatives for a BCom or BBA graduate:
| Option | Strengths | Trade-offs |
|---|---|---|
| Volvo GAT (NATS) | Global brand on resume; real ERP and tax-compliance work; stipend above the NATS minimum | Temporary, one year; on-site in Bengaluru; no guaranteed conversion |
| Full-time fresher role at a shared-service centre | Salary, PF and benefits from day one | Harder to land without experience; narrower training |
| Short internship | Flexible; can be remote | Usually two to six months; smaller stipend and less depth |
If you also want to look beyond Volvo, our company hiring process guides cover other large employers, and the live listings on Asuraa jobs let you filter for entry-level finance roles in Bengaluru.
When does Volvo open GAT roles?
Volvo opens GAT roles team by team through the year rather than through a single published batch window, and the postings checked did not list an application deadline. Several earlier GAT postings on the same portal were already closed when checked, which suggests openings fill and close quickly. Set a saved search or job alert on the Volvo portal, check it weekly, and apply within a few days of a posting going live.
Related guides
- Company Hiring Process Guides for Freshers in India (2026)
- Siemens India Hiring Process: Graduate Trainee Engineer Roles
- LSEG Business Graduate Associate Programme in India: Role and Process
- Amazon SDE Intern (University Talent Acquisition) in India: Process
FAQ
Is Volvo Group GAT a permanent job?
No. Volvo lists Graduate Apprentice Trainee roles as temporary, one-year apprenticeships under the National Apprenticeship Training Scheme and the Apprentices Act, 1961. The postings checked in October 2026 make no promise of conversion to a permanent role. Strong performers can still be considered for openings, but plan your job search for the end of the year in case a role is not offered.
What is the Volvo GAT stipend in 2026?
The BCom/BBA Graduate Apprentice Trainee posting on Volvo Group's careers portal lists Rs 16,500 per month as of October 2026. Two other Group Finance GAT postings checked the same day did not state a stipend. The government-set NATS minimum for graduate apprentices is Rs 9,000 per month, so the Volvo figure is above that floor.
Can engineering graduates apply for Volvo GAT?
The GAT postings live on Volvo's portal on 13 October 2026 were Group Finance roles asking for BCom, BBA or other commerce and business degrees, so engineering graduates were not the target for those openings. Volvo uses the GAT title for different teams over time, so engineering graduates should check new postings on jobs.volvogroup.com and read the degree line in each.
Which batches are eligible for Volvo GAT 2026?
The BCom/BBA Graduate Apprentice Trainee posting accepts candidates who graduated in 2024, 2025 or 2026, and asks for all mark sheets plus a provisional degree certificate. It does not state a minimum percentage. Other GAT postings did not list a batch, so check each posting and confirm with the recruiter before applying.
Where is the Volvo GAT job location?
All Graduate Apprentice Trainee postings live on Volvo Group's careers portal on 13 October 2026 were in Bengaluru, Karnataka, with postal code 562122, and on-site five days a week with no travel. An earlier GAT posting, now closed, listed Hosakote. Expect to relocate to the Bengaluru area if you are selected.
Do I need to register on the NATS portal for Volvo GAT?
Yes, it is sensible to register. The GAT roles run under the National Apprenticeship Training Scheme, and the NATS portal states that candidates become eligible only after completing e-KYC verification. Registering early and finishing e-KYC avoids delays when the company creates your apprenticeship contract and when the government share of the stipend is paid.
Final thoughts
The Volvo Group GAT is a paid, one-year finance apprenticeship in Bengaluru that suits commerce graduates who want real ERP and tax-compliance work on their resume. Read each posting for its own degree, batch and stipend details, register on NATS early, and keep looking at other roles while you train. If you want a second opinion on whether an apprenticeship or a full-time role suits you better, a short session with an Asuraa mentor can help.
Related articles
Remote Software Engineering Internships in India: Where to Look
Where remote SDE internships in India really come from, what they pay, which open-source programmes count, and a 4-week plan to get shortlisted.
Remote Data Science Internships for Freshers: How to Find Real Ones
Real remote data science internships come from startups, consultancies and open-source programmes. Here is where to find them, what they pay and how to prepare in 4 weeks.
Interview Questions by Subject: Java, Python, SQL, DSA, Cloud, AI
Every interview question set in one place, organised by subject and role: core CS, programming languages, web and testing, data and analytics, AI and ML, cloud, DevOps and HR rounds.
Projects and Portfolio Guide for Freshers: Data, Software and AI
Choose the right projects for data analyst, data scientist, ML, web and software roles, build them on real public data or APIs, and present them so recruiters notice.